The Amazon Rainforest

The Amazon Rainforest


0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Aerial view of the Amazon Rainforest, near Manaus, Amazonas, Brazil

The jungle in South America is called the Amazon Rainforest, also known as Amazon Jungle and Amazonia. It is the biggest rainforest in the world. The majority of the Amazon rainforest is contained within the boundaries of 10 South American countries. Those countries are Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Peru, Suriname and Venezuela.


The Amazon rainforest has a total area of 2.1 million square miles (5.5 million square kilometers), which means that it is larger than India, and if it was a country, it would have been the seventh largest country in the world.


Interesting Facts About the Amazon Rainforest

–  The Amazon rainforest covers about 40 % of the South American Continent
–  The Amazon reinforest represents over half of the planet’s remaining rainforests
–  The Amazon reinforest contains the largest and most species-rich tract of tropical rainforest in the world